Posted by: kbenoy | July 22, 2011

Welcome!

Just so you know what I look like!

Hello and welcome to my blog!

My name is Kimberley Benoy and I am the new Project Archivist at Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies. I have been appointed to catalogue the Smith, Son and Wilkie collection. This is my first professional position since qualifying as an archivist and completing the course at Liverpool University’s Centre for Archive Studies (LUCAS). I have experience of a range of repositories including business collections and local authority archives. Originally from Hertfordshire, I recently moved to Wolverhampton and I am really enjoying living in the West Midlands.

My job is a full time position for the next 18 months funded by the National Cataloguing Grants Programme for Archives, which is administrated by The National Archives. During this time I will be working on the Smith, Son and Wilkie collection to sort, appraise, arrange and catalogue the collection in full. Once completed, the catalogue will give details of many local companies and allow users to gain an insight into business history within Wolverhampton over the last century. For more information on the background of the project please see the About the Project page.

Responses

  1. Hi Kimberley,

    A fantastic blog and plenty of information for the non-archivist too. Well done!

    karen


Leave a Reply

Categories

