Posted by: kbenoy | February 23, 2012

Reflections of a Volunteer

Today, I would like to share the reflections of another student volunteer at the Archives. Tom is a first year War Studies student at the University of Wolverhampton and is volunteering as part of a Work Placement module.

The time that I have spend at the Wolverhampton Archives as a volunteer has been brief, yet I feel that I have learned a great deal of knowledge on Wolverhampton and its local areas. As I am a student in my first year of my degree, I did not put that much effort in to looking at the city of Wolverhampton history before I travelled up here from my home town of Hastings. However after being shown the skills to be able to track down information within the archive I now feel that I can find anything that a member of the public requires or just myself being interested in the local history. Only the other week I found records on soldiers who fought and died for England during the First and Second World Wars who lived in Wolverhampton. Since I found those records I have been on a search for more to see if there is anymore gold to be found. I would highly recommend anyone to come to visit the Wolverhampton Archives and have a look through their records, more likely or not you’ll find something you were not expecting.  

For more information on Volunteering please see my previous post on Volunteering at the Archives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

