Posted by: kbenoy | April 17, 2012

volunteering

My experience as a volunteer.

I started working as a volunteer on the ‘Taking account of our past’ project last summer. Since then I have learnt a lot about my home town of Wolverhampton and have become a member of the ‘Friends of the Archives’, – attending meetings on a variety of subjects.

research

I have spent many happy hours at the Archives wallowing in files, documents, pictures, newspapers and have also spent time at home surfing the net for any information I could find about my chosen businesses.

I have learnt about the conservation work involved and helped with the sorting of the Collection during the stock taking weeks. It has been a pleasure to meet people with an interest in history similar to my own, to compare notes and hear of their experiences on researching people and places.

Leave a Reply

Categories

